DIY: RAST Hack, Campaign style

Today I am going to share with you my DIY project to turn the Ikea RAST into a campaign style nightstand, as previewed here yesterday. Let me begin by saying that this beauty took me a total of almost a month to complete. Why you ask?

  1. Mother nature would not stop her wind whipping nature to let me finnish painting
  2. Handle pulls were on backorder
  3. Handles then proved a huge problem: I would have to carve out the face of the drawers so they could lay flush– details in a moment
  4. Carving out the face of the drawer caused me three extra trips to Lowes to buy new attachments for the drill in hopes of an easier method. Lesson learned: improvising with the tools you have sometimes makes for a much more painful process.

My DIY hack tools and materials:

Ikea RAST chest

Spray paint primer

1 quart of high gloss paint – I used Olympic Chilled Wine

paint brush

sanding sponge

wood filler

drill

#115 Dremel bit  (high speed cutter)

#124 Dremel bit (high speed cutter)

1/2″ spade drill bit

4 campaign style handles – I used these from House of Antique Hardware – here are some more brass handle sources from Peonies and Brass

3 packages of 2″ flat brass corners (4 per pack)

rast

First: I assembled the RAST following Ikea’s instructions, minus assembling the knobs that are included.
Second: Fill in pre-drilled holes with wood filler and sand once dry.
post filled in holes and sanding

post filled in holes and sanding

Third: Prime and paint chest. I used three coats of paint to get the lacquer even and opaque.
starting to get real shinny

starting to get real shinny

Fourth: Apply corner brackets on each corner of each drawer with drill.
corners on and layout of handles being determined

corners on and layout of handles being determined

This is where my oh, shit moment occurred.  I discovered that I was going to have to carve out area on the front of the drawers to make them  flush.

determining how much trench digging would have to occur

determining how much trench digging would have to occur

Fifth: Make template to drill holes for handle screws. Apply to front of drawers and drill as marked.
template for location of drill holes

template for location of drill holes

drilling holes using template

drilling holes using template

Sixth: Carve out space on front of drawers to insert pulls using Dremel bits and spade drill bit. Screw down handles.
mistakingly trying to use only #115 Dremel bit and template

mistakingly trying to use only #115 Dremel bit and template

digging trenches

digging trenches with spade drill bit

Seventh: Style her all pretty and ta-da.

DSCN4372

Lezbhonest, this was a super laborious process for me. Mostly because I didn’t have the correct tools when I started out. The spade bit saved me a lot of muscle pain, but this DIY could have been much simpler if I had possessed and used a jigsaw to cut out the space for the handles. But I do believe I love this DIY more since I put so much sweat into it.

Total project cost: $120.50

  1. Ikea RAST: $35
  2. Paint: $12
  3. Brush: $3
  4. Primer: $6
  5. Filler: $3
  6. Handles: $39 including shipping
  7. Corners: $7.50
  8. Bits: $15

Not to bad for a campaign style piece! Plus now that I have the process down pat and tools ready to go, making a matching pair will be a breeze and less financial investment.

xxClaire

One thought on “DIY: RAST Hack, Campaign style

  1. Greetings from France. Thanks for this post
    I really liked the fact that you included the “oh no moment”! I’ve had quite a few each time I tried DIYing. 🙂

show me some lovin'

