Desk redo

A couple months ago I decided to rid my sleeping quarters of an old piece of IKEA storage that was basically just taking up space to make room for a new desk. Here are some of my favorite inspiration pictures.

Picture 4

via the everygirl

portfolio_0472

Meg Birham

3937f53c9ea6

decor pad

Picture 5

Maggie Rose

Amanda_10

the glitter guide

I knew I wanted a glossy white table top but didn’t want to spend the $$ on the West Elm Parsons Desk as pictured above in the first 4 above photos. My solution: the LIMMON table top from IKEA.

Picture 1

LIMMON table top

I bought the 47″ size for $26. Of course the table was out of stock for a month when I was ready to get my redesign on due to having to redo all packaging for the name change from VIKA AMON table. Luckily on my second trip to IKEA she was in stock and I was a happy girl. I also purchased the LERBERG Trestles for the legs with the plan to spray paint them gold.

Picture 6

LERBERG Trestle

At $10 a pop for the legs, my high gloss desk look was created for the low low price of $50. Here she is after I got her all sprayed and assembled. I am using my mongolian stool DIY as a seat for my desk.

photo-2

I had originally planned on buying this gold geometric lamp from  land of nod but am now leaning towards something more industrial.

between-a-rock-lamp-base-gold

source

I am still working on styling my desk but here is my board of my final vision. My wonderful mother is painting original watercolors for art in my desk area [thanks mom]. I can’t wait to see what she has painted. The paintings I have included here are just some for inspiration.

DESK

lamp | topiary | monogram letter | lacquered box | coasters in Jamie blue | cowhide rug [this etsy store has reasonably priced options] | flamingo print | italy print

One thought on “Desk redo

  1. Claire, I love your creativity! And btw, your mom has painted some fun watercolors for your desk! Thinking of you…

show me some lovin'

