GF oatmeal chocolate chip muffins

This week I have been sick, battling a sore throat and cough. While I wasn’t laying around on the couch, I made one of my favorite recipes – oatmeal chocolate chip muffins — into a gluten free recipe. I am not diagnosed to be GF intolerant, but I do find I sleep and feel much better when I do not eat gluten.

photo 2

This recipe is a tweaking of a recipe I got off a bag of rolled oats I purchased awhile back. I recently bought Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour from Fresh Market so thought I would try my hand at making a GF item. ¬†Overall, the muffins turned out good, and still had a good flavor. They probably needed some more liquid ingredient added though, because they turned out looking more like drop biscuits. I had read online that usually GF flours will require more of the liquid ingredients, but there was nothing on the bag of Bob’s directing me to add more liquid ingredients, so I wanted to try it not adjusting any ingredients the first time.

1600C224_GFAllPurposeFlour_s_450

 

Here’s the recipe (adjusted to have more liquid ingredients):

  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats (uncooked)
  • 1 1/4 cups GF flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill GF All Purpose Baking Flour)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 4 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

photo 1

signature

show me some lovin'

