best of clean beauty

In 2013, I self taught myself more about clean eating and what super foods I should be eating more of. When I came across Jessica’s blog, Bare Beauty, it really made me stop and think about the products I am putting on my skin. I indulged in her ‘this isn’t pretty‘ tab to learn more about specific ingredients that are in many beauty products today. Needless to say it  scared me shitless, but being a self identified non-product junkie, I was at a loss of where to start. When she introduced Ayla Beauty on her blog, I was able to find a few clean products in my sample kit that truly do make an amazing difference on my skin.

I have also found a few other tried and true beauty products that do not contain all the junk that is so toxic for your skin. Here is my round up of my clean beauty staples I discovered in 2013.

best -of-beauty1 :: Elave Oil Free Moisturizer is amazingly creamy and hydrates my skin so well – $32 for 1.7 oz

2 :: Stila Stay All Day Wataerproof Liquid Eyeliner is what I wear every single day and it really does stay all day. I checked it’s rating on Environmental Working Group’s app Skin Deep [free from the app store] and it only had a rating of 1. I can live with that $20 for a tube

3 :: I picked up Badger Foot Balm on a whim at Whole Foods and it is so so amazing for dry winter feet. I apply every night before I get in bed $10 for 2 oz

4 :: I hunted Ilia lipstick down in Atlanta because I had heard good reviews and the ingredients are completely organic and clean $24 for one tube

5 :: Coconut oil is a godsend. Not only do I use it to cook, but I remove my makeup with it every night. It also is a great moisturizer for legs when they are extra dry $10 for 14 oz

6 :: I use Dr. Jart+ Black Label Detox BB Cream every morning as my base. It creates an even complexion and is simple to apply $36 for 1.5 oz

7 :: Using my Kahina Giving Beauty Facial Cleanser every morning and evening has helped reduce my breakouts and makes my skin a million times softer $56 for 6.8 oz [if you are a first time buyer from Beauty Bar, they will give you 20% off using code BBTAKE20]

signature

show me some lovin'

